Trillium Book Award Author Readings June 16



Recent News

Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Award Shortlists Announced

Share |

Anyone who is worried that young people are becoming less interested in books needs only to look to the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards. Not only do the awards celebrate the great writing for young people happening in Canada, but they are the only Canadian literary award where student juries work together to choose the winning books. This year, students at Scarborough Village Alternative Public School in Toronto will select the winning titles. Five students in grades 3 and 4 will select the recipient(s) of the Children’s Picture Book Award, while five students in grades 7 and 8 will select the recipient of the Young Adult/Middle Reader Award.

Writers' Trust announces RBC Bronwen Wallace Shortlist

Since 1994, the RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers has been identifying, rewarding, and encouraging Canada's best up and coming poets and prose writers.

Dedicated to discovering bright new writers (who must be unpublished in book form and under the age of 35), the prize has been awarded to now-household names like Yann Martel, Michael Crummey, and Jeramy Dodds.

Today the Writers’ Trust of Canada announced their 2016 finalists. The winner will be announced June 8. The winner will receive $5,000, and the remaining finalists will receive $1,000.

Advanced Search