25th Trillium Award

The Canadian Science Writers' Association Announces the Winners of Two Annual Awards

Share |
The Big Green Book of the Big Blue Sea, by Helaine Becker

Each year, the Canadian Science Writers? Association gives out annual book awards to the best books in science writing. The association has officially announced the winners of its general audience award, which is awarded to the best science book intended for the general public and published in 2012, and the youth book award, awarded to science writing that is intended for children between the ages of eight and twelve. Fatal Flaws (HarperCollins Canada) by Jay Ingram, the former host of Discovery Channel?s Daily Planet, is the winner of the general audience book award. The Big Green Book of the Big Blue Sea (Kids Can Press) by Helaine Becker is the winner of the youth book award.

The Big Green Book of the Big Blue Sea shows children how the ocean works and why we should protect it. Fatal Flaws is a scientific detective story about the protein known as prions, the cause of many diseases including mad cow disease. It explores the possibility that prions may be the key to new treatments that can cure some of the most devastating brain diseases on the planet, including Parkinson?s and Alzheimer?s. These two books were ?judged on the basis of initiative, originality, scientific accuracy, clarity of interpretation and value in promoting a better understanding of science by the public.?

Each winner will receive $1,000. The winners will be given their awards on June 7, 2013 during the CSWA annual conference in Montreal.

Read more about the award winners here.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search