25th Trillium Award

David McFadden, Fady Joudah and Ghassan Zaqtan Win the 2013 Griffin Poetry Prize

Share |

The winners of the Griffin Poetry Prize were announced last night at a ceremony in Toronto. David McFadden was named the Canadian winner for his book, What's the Score? (Mansfield Press). Like a Straw Bird It Follows Me, and Other Poems (Yale University Press), translated from the Arabic by Fady Joudah and written by Ghassan Zaqtan won the international award.

Poets Suzanne Buffam, Mark Doty and Wang Ping were the judges for the 2013 Griffin Poetry Prize.

The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology: A Selection of the 2013 Shortlist (House of Anansi Press) is edited by Suzanne Buffman and is available at most bookstores. Royalties generated from the annual Griffin Poetry Prize anthologies are donated to UNESCO?s World Poetry Day.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search