Trillium Book Award Author Readings June 16

Lane Anderson Award Winners Announced

Share |

Congratulations to John Theberge, Mary Theberge and Daniel Loxton, the three winners of the prestigious Lane Anderson Award! The annual award honours two jury-selected books, in the categories of adult and young reader, published in the field of science and written by a Canadian. The winner of each category is awarded $10,000.

Wildlife biologists John Theberge and Mary Theberge received the Lane Anderson Award in the Adult category for The Ptarmigan's Dilemma: An Ecological Exploration into the Mysteries of Life (McCelland & Stewart). Marrying "the separate sciences of ecology and genetics" the book examines "what the mechanisms of evolution are and how they work." The jury says of The Ptarmigan's Dilemma, “The writing is superb, and the authors’ command of the material is very impressive — this is a genuinely original and impressive effort at public education."

The Lane Anderson Award in the Young Reader category has been awarded to Daniel Loxton for his book Evolution: How We and All Living Things Came to Be (Kids Can Press). Deemed too controversial by US publishers, Loxton's book has been very well-received in Canada. The award jury calls Evolution a "tour-de-force of science writing" that will "spark the imagination of readers as they contemplate how we and other creatures came to be."

Read more about the Lane Anderson Awards at
View the 2010 shortlist for the Lane Anderson Awards
Read more about science writing and the Lane Anderson Awards on John Oughton's Open Book blog.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications