25th Trillium Award


A Profile of N.W. Lea

Ottawa poet N.W. Lea (formerly known as Nicholas Lea) was born in Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, and grew up, in part, on his grandparent’s farm in northern Stormont County, Ontario, mere miles away from the McLennan family homestead.


Starting Out

With Alan Bradley, Jennifer Dance, P.S. Duffy, Anna Hope, Mary-Rose MacColl, Jennifer Vanderbes, Audrey Thomas and Eric Walters.

Special Valentine's Feature: Editors Dish on Their Literary Crushes!

This Valentine's Day, we're talking to some of Canada's finest editors about the purest love of all: the love of a good book — or in this case, the love of a character from a book.

Every book lover is guilty of a crush or two, whether it's Mr. Darcy or Tyler Durden. So let your heart take the lead as our fine editors confess to their literary crushes — you may be surprised!

Crissy Calhoun

Managing Editor, ECW Press

CBC Canada Reads Interview Series: Wab Kinew

We're counting down the days to the country's favourite literary competition — CBC Canada Reads.

We will be covering the debates again this year, and we're especially pleased to chat with the panellists prior to their literary clash. Today we welcome Wab Kinew, who will defend acclaimed author Joseph Boyden's newest novel, The Orenda (Penguin Canada).

Poets in Profile, with Vanessa Shields

Windsor-based poet Vanessa Shields' first book of poetry, I Am That Woman, was recently published by Black Moss Press.

The Writers' Trust Announces 2014 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize Finalists!

From our friends at the Writers' Trust:

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has named the five finalists for the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing. Now in its fourteenth year, the prize is awarded annually for a book of literary non-fiction that captures a political subject of relevance to Canadian readers and which has the potential to shape or influence thinking on Canadian political life. The winner will be announced in Ottawa on April 2, 2014, at the Politics and the Pen Gala, an event which attracts Ottawa's top players every year.


From our friends at IFOA:

Calling All Poets! Submissions are now open for Poetry NOW: 6th Annual Battle of the Bards, presented by IFOA and their long-time media partner NOW Magazine.

Just in time for National Poetry Month, this popular poetry competition celebrates Canadian poetry by showcasing 20 upcoming and established writers for a night of readings on Wednesday, April 2, 2014. One poet will win an invitation to read at the 35th annual International Festival of Authors (October 23–November 2, 2014) and have their book advertised in NOW.

Write Across Ontario: Fader by Jaimie-Ann Adams

Every Tuesday in January, the Open Book Magazine has featured one of the four winning stories in Open Book: Ontario and IFOA Ontario's Write Across Ontario contest. Ontario elementary and high school students were asked to compose a story of 500 words or less in response to a "story-starter," which was written by a well-known author.

Call for Submissions: The Mississauga Poem Project

From our friends at the Art Gallery of Mississauga:

Tell us your Mississauga... in verse!

Poet Priscila Uppal, in partnership with the Art Gallery of Mississauga, invites you to join her in creating poetry out of words found around the city of Mississauga. The poems are out there — we just need you to find them!

Syndicate content

Advanced Search