25th Trillium Award

 

FICTION CRAFT BY SHAUN SMITH, ET AL

Title Deed

With Helaine Becker, Brenda Chapman, Krista Floss, Nora Gold, K.D. Miller and Kathy Page.

This month for Fiction Craft, I asked a group of writers: How do you choose titles for your works?

Guest Post! Robert Mugabe, yoga & witchcraft - A Guest Post & Excerpt from Lisa de Nikolits

How Robert Mugabe used yoga to legalize witchcraft in Zimbabwe: A Guest Post and Excerpt from Lisa de Nikolits

From Lisa de Nikolits, author of The Witchdoctor’s Bones (Inanna Publications):

This, The Witchdoctor’s Bones, is my fourth novel, and, while the story is primarily a psychological thriller/murder mystery set in Africa, featuring an unusual group of travellers on a deadly safari, it is also a study of morality

On Writing, with Mark Coakley

Lawyer-turned-author Mark Coakley's newest book is Hidden Harvest: The Rise and Fall of North America's Biggest Cannabis Grow-Op (ECW Press). In Hidden Harvest, Mark explores the actions and impact of a criminal group which transformed an abandoned Molson beer factory north of Toronto into a veritable forest of cannabis.

Iconic Canadian Writer Farley Mowat Passes Away at Age 92

Farley Mowat, one of Canada's most beloved and successful authors, passed away on May 6, 2014 after an acclaimed writing life that included the Stephen Leacock Award, the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal, the Order of Canada, a Gemini Award, a Star on Canada's Walk of Fame and many more honours. He sold over 17 million copies of his books during his lifetime, including Never Cry Wolf (McClelland & Stewart), which was adapted into a feature film, and the children's book Lost in the Barrens (also published by McClelland & Stewart, where he would enjoy a life-long publishing relationship), which won the Governor General's Literary Award.

During World War II, Mowat served as a platoon commander, intelligence officer and, later, as a captain. He published his first book, People of the Deer in 1952. A lifelong environmentalist and wilderness enthusiast, Mowat's books often focused on natural settings and themes.

The Globe & Mail ran an extended obituary celebrating Mowat's life and achievements, a must-read for fans of Mowat and Canadian literature.

The Saving Bannister 29th Annual Poetry Anthology Contest

From our friends at the Niagara Branch of the Canadian Authors Association:

The Niagara Branch of the Canadian Authors Association is holding its 29th Annual Poetry Anthology contest for residents of Ontario.

Writing, fatherhood (fragments,

By rob mclennan

Writing. As the baby sleeps. As baby feeds. I type with one hand. Learn to think in short bursts. Pockets.

Think of William Carlos Williams, composing poems on prescription pads between patients. Patience. Short lines quick on paper scraps. How the when of his writing helped shape the what. My thinking exists in shards, in pieces. Fragments.

To write, one must continue to evolve, improve. These fragments of attention.

Therefore, to embrace. If I am to write at all.

Celebrating the Life of Alistair MacLeod

Alistair MacLeod will forever be remembered as one of the great Canadian writers, and will be particularly remembered for his ability to evoke the landscape and people of Cape Breton Island. Exploring themes of family, geographic ties to the land, community and socioeconomic realities in Cape Breton, MacLeod vividly brought to life the stories of Cape Breton's people and their history.

At the Desk: rob mclennan

Born in Ottawa, rob mclennan currently calls Canada's glorious capital city his home. The author of nearly thirty trade books of poetry, fiction and non-fiction, he won the John Newlove Poetry Award in 2010 and was longlisted for the CBC Poetry Prize in 2012. He recently won the Council for the Arts in Ottawa Mid-Career Artist Award, announced at a gala on April 22, 2014.

CNIB Library Braille Creative Writing Contest

The CNIB Library is now accepting submissions for their Braille Creative Writing Contest. The contest is open to primary and secondary Canadian students who are blind or partially sighted. There are four group levels: Grades K-2; Grades 3-5; Grades 6-8 and Grades 9-12 and the contest is divided into two categories, one for story/essay and one for poetry.

Brick Books Kicks Off Spring 2014 Cross-Canada Tour

Brick Books' is kicking off their Spring 2014 Cross-Canada Tour this week.

Syndicate content

Advanced Search