Trillium Book Award Author Readings June 16


2016 RBC Taylor Prize Announces Powerhouse Shortlist

This morning in Toronto, the 2016 shortlist for one of the country's top non-fiction prizes was announced. It's the best kind of shortlist — one where predicting a winner from the crop of extraordinary books is virtually impossible.

RBC Taylor Prize jurors Susanne Boyce, Joseph Kertes and Stephen J. Toope selected five titles as finalists for the fifteenth iteration of the prize, honoured for their literary excellence.

2016 RBC Taylor Prize Shortlist:

  • Ian Brown for Sixty: The Beginning of the End, or the End of the Beginning? (Random House Canada)
  • Special Feature! Josh Massey on His Literary Places

    Josh Massey is the author of The Plotline Bomber of Innisfree (BookThug), which tells the story of Jeffery Inkster, a former hipster who has turned to elk farming in order to find peace. Things become complicated when members of Jeffery's small, eccentric community become suspects in a pipeline bombing. A Calvino-esque tale with a thriller edge, The Plotline Bomber of Innisfree weaves together satire, metafiction and suspense to create an unforgettable story that slyly engages with current conversations around environmental politics, fatigue with commercial enterprise and our relationship with nature.

    Open Book Recommends: 2015 Holiday Reading Guide Part Two

    Yesterday we shared the first part of our 2015 Holiday Reading Guide, and today we offer up part two of our recommendations for some of the year's best books to give and receive this holiday season.

    Despite the hectic nature of the festive season, we can't help but suggest finding some time to curl up with a good book, and a cup of something hot (and boozy, if that's your thing) this holiday season!

    CBC Canada Reads announces longlisted books & the return of host Wab Kinew

    The 15th edition of CBC's popular tournament of books, Canada Reads, is shaping up to be an exciting one. Popular 2015 host, broadcaster, author and activist Wab Kinew will return to referee the sometimes hot-blooded debates.

    The theme of the 2016 competition will be "starting over", and the longlist honours that theme with books featuring stories of second chances, new starts, immigrations, loss and a dazzling variety of changes and evolutions for their diverse characters. Some titles are familiar favourites, while others will be new to most listeners.

    Open Book Recommends: 2015 Holiday Reading Guide Part One

    Despite the seasonally warm temperatures, the festive season is indeed upon us, and that means it's time for merrymaking and gift giving. For lit lovers, there is no better gift to give (or receive) than a new book!

    Open Book is here to help you cross some names off your list, and perhaps pick up a book or two for yourself to enjoy with that glass of eggnog. Our two-part Holiday Reading Guide has something for every reader and features some of the year's best books from our local indie presses.

    Read an Excerpt from Jean Marc Ah-Sen's Grand Menteur

    Need a good read? We're excited to present an exclusive excerpt from Jean Marc Ah-Sen's Grand Menteur, courtesy of BookThug, right here for your reading pleasure.

    Dip into the world of Mauritian street gangs, a world of danger and intrigue in which the titular Grand Menteur operates. Tasked with constructing alibis and confusing the police, the Menteur is an accomplished liar, but his perfect control is challenged when his daughter is drawn into his criminal world.

    This debut novel is not to be missed, so don't miss the chance to sample it below.

    Read It Here! The Winners of the Write Across Ontario Contest for Student Authors

    Write Across Ontario is a literary competition open to middle and high school students across the province, and every year we're excited to see what the next generation of CanLit stars has for us. Together with IFOA Ontario, we are pleased to present the winning stories for the 2015 competition. This is your exclusive chance to read the first place texts in all four categories!

    Each grade range was provided with a story starter written by a Canadian author. From there, students were free to go in any direction they wanted for up to 500 words. The creativity and imagination on display was impressive and we're thrilled to host the winning stories once again this year.

    Ontario Students Have the Write Stuff: Announcing the Winners of the 2015 Write Across Ontario competition!

    Together with IFOA Ontario, we are pleased to announce the 2015 winners of the Write Across Ontario competition.

    Elementary and high school students from across the province used story prompts from acclaimed Canadian writers to tell creative, exciting stories, and we've selected the best of the best.

    Writers' Trust Awards Inaugral $50,000 Fellowship to Newfoundland Author Michael Crummey

    In celebration of the 150th anniversary of Canada's confederation, the Writers' Trust of Canada has committed $150,000 over three years to a new fellowship celebrating the finest in Canadian writing. The inaugural fellow was announced last night at a gala event in Toronto. Michael Crummey is a highly decorated Newfoundland-based author, whose books have been nominated for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Governor General's Literary Award, the Commonwealth Writers' Prize, the Amazon First Novel Award and the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award in addition to winning the Thomas Head Raddall Award, the Winterset Award for Excellence in Newfoundland Writing and the Atlantic Independent Booksellers' Choice Award.

    Ontario Speaker’s Book Award Shortlist Features a Majority of Small Press Titles!

    The holidays have come early for non-fiction lovers, political junkies and policy wonks, with the release of the 2015 Speaker's Book Award shortlist. Presented by Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario Dave Levac, the Speaker’s Book Award aims to bring awareness to books written by Ontarians covering historical, regional, cultural, or parliamentary aspects of the province.

    The award, now in its fourth year, gives special consideration to works focusing on Ontario’s parliamentary heritage and on provincial political discourse.

    Syndicate content

    Advanced Search