25th Trillium Award

 

Erin Frances Fisher wins RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

The Writer's Trust of Canada announced the winner of the RBC Bronwen Wallace Award, which highlights the talents of emerging Canadian writers under the age of 35, who have yet to be published in book form. The award, which also celebrated its 20th anniversary, was presented at an event at Toronto’s Royal Conservatory of Music hosted by novelist and poet Michael Crummey, who won the inaugural prize in 1994.

Five Things Literary: Hamilton, Ontario with Krista Foss

In our Five Things Literary series, we bring you into the literary life of individual authors and the communities that nurture and inspire them.

Today we hear from debut novelist and past Journey Prize nominee (twice over!) Krista Foss, who lives and writes in Hamilton. Krista's debut novel, Smoke River, was published this spring by McClelland & Stewart. Quill & Quire triumphed the work as a modern classic, saying Smoke River will "overwhelm you with deep feelings — despair, anger, love, defiance, frustration, yearning, bitterness, pain... [a] searing novel".

Krista is in good company in Hamilton, which has quietly been attracting writers and artists of all stripes from across the province to its historical core for many years, creating a vibrant arts community in the southwestern Ontario city.

Read on to hear from Krista about the literary life of Hamilton.

Contest! Win a set of the 2014 Trillium Award Nominated Books!

What better way to celebrate the spring thaw than to stock up on great Ontario books for reading on beaches, in parks, at cottages and anywhere else your heart desires?

Open Book and the Trillium Book Awards want to help you do just that! Enter our contest for a chance to win a full set of the English language finalists for the 2014 Trillium Book Awards.

Finalists Announced for the 2014 Trillium Book Awards!

The 2014 Trillium Book Award nominations include a significant small press presence, with nods for indie houses Guernica Editions, Pedlar Press (the only house to scoop two English-language spots), Playwrights Canada Press, Cormorant Books and House of Anansi. The nominees are a mix of established and mid-career authors, many with significant honours under their belts already, including Scotiabank Giller Prize winner Austin Clarke, Governor General’s Literary Award nominee Hannah Moscovitch and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize winner Helen Humphreys, to highlight just a few.

Recipients of the 2014 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards Announced

The 2014 winners of the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards were announced yesterday at Aldergrove Public School in Markham. Two juries of young readers, made up of students from the school, selected winners of the two $6,000 awards in the Children's Picture Book and Young Adult/Middle Reader categories. This unique jury process allows the students to read the nominated books on their own and then come together to reach a consensus on the winners.

The winners of the 2014 awards are:

Children's Picture Book Award
Anne Villeneuve, Loula is Leaving for Africa (Kids Can Press)

TIFF Books on Film: Eleanor Wachtel Chats with Yiyun Li

On Monday evening, May 12, TIFF continued their popular TIFF Books on Film series with an adaptation of Chinese American writer Yiyun Li's A Thousand Years of Good Prayers.

FICTION CRAFT BY SHAUN SMITH, ET AL

Title Deed

With Helaine Becker, Brenda Chapman, Krista Floss, Nora Gold, K.D. Miller and Kathy Page.

This month for Fiction Craft, I asked a group of writers: How do you choose titles for your works?

Guest Post! Robert Mugabe, yoga & witchcraft - A Guest Post & Excerpt from Lisa de Nikolits

How Robert Mugabe used yoga to legalize witchcraft in Zimbabwe: A Guest Post and Excerpt from Lisa de Nikolits

From Lisa de Nikolits, author of The Witchdoctor’s Bones (Inanna Publications):

This, The Witchdoctor’s Bones, is my fourth novel, and, while the story is primarily a psychological thriller/murder mystery set in Africa, featuring an unusual group of travellers on a deadly safari, it is also a study of morality

On Writing, with Mark Coakley

Lawyer-turned-author Mark Coakley's newest book is Hidden Harvest: The Rise and Fall of North America's Biggest Cannabis Grow-Op (ECW Press). In Hidden Harvest, Mark explores the actions and impact of a criminal group which transformed an abandoned Molson beer factory north of Toronto into a veritable forest of cannabis.

Iconic Canadian Writer Farley Mowat Passes Away at Age 92

Farley Mowat, one of Canada's most beloved and successful authors, passed away on May 6, 2014 after an acclaimed writing life that included the Stephen Leacock Award, the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal, the Order of Canada, a Gemini Award, a Star on Canada's Walk of Fame and many more honours. He sold over 17 million copies of his books during his lifetime, including Never Cry Wolf (McClelland & Stewart), which was adapted into a feature film, and the children's book Lost in the Barrens (also published by McClelland & Stewart, where he would enjoy a life-long publishing relationship), which won the Governor General's Literary Award.

During World War II, Mowat served as a platoon commander, intelligence officer and, later, as a captain. He published his first book, People of the Deer in 1952. A lifelong environmentalist and wilderness enthusiast, Mowat's books often focused on natural settings and themes.

The Globe & Mail ran an extended obituary celebrating Mowat's life and achievements, a must-read for fans of Mowat and Canadian literature.

Syndicate content

Advanced Search