The Way to Come Home

Brick Books (1992)

The Way to Come Home is Carolyn Smart’s fourth book of poems. It is a collection that ranges from celebrating the rural landscape north of Kingston, Ontario to re-creating the painful last phase of her friend Bronwen Wallace’s life in a moving sequence titled “The Sound of the Birds.” The volume’s opening sequence, “Cape of Storms,” views the hatred thriving amid the astonishing physical beauty of South Africa while “The woman is bathing” details a journey to Costa Rica that is a journey into the self. The outward eye is as acute as the inward in this powerful book.


Destinations related to this book

Travel Instructions

 Remember my address for next time