Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood was born November 18, 2022 in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. In realizing from the early age of 16 that she wanted to write professionally, Atwood went on to Victoria College in the University of Toronto, Harvard's Radcliffe College, and Harvard University, finishing with a BAin Honours English, an MA, and other graduate studies. In 2011, she was awarded an honorary degree of Doctor of Literature from the National University of Ireland, Galway, as well as other honorary degrees from several Canadian Universities.

Atwood is a Canadian poet, novelist, literary critic, essayist and environmental activist. She is a winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award and Prince of Asturias Award for Literature, as well as being shortlisted for the Booker Prize five times and winning once. She has been the finalist for the Governor General's Award several times, winning once. In 2001, she was inducted into Canada's Walk of Fame, and she is also a founder of the Writer's Trust of Canada - a non-profit literary organization that seeks to encourage Canada's writing community. She was also a founding trustee of the Griffin Poetry Prize. In total, Atwood has received more than 55 awards for her work, both Canadian and internationally.

Margaret Atwood is the author of more than forty volumes of poetry, children?s literature, fiction, and non-fiction, but is best known for her novels. Her most frequent genres include historical fiction, speculative fiction, science fiction and dystopian fiction. Atwood?s work has been published in more than forty languages, including Farsi, Japanese, Turkish, Finnish, Korean, Icelandic and Estonian.


On the web

  • Margaret Atwood's Website

  • Full List of Margaret Atwood's Awards and Recognitions

  • Margaret Atwood's Full Bibliography