25th Trillium Award

2011 Danuta Gleed Literary Award Shortlist Announced

Share |

The Writers? Union of Canada has announced the Danuta Gleed Literary Award shortlist nominees.

This is the 15th year the award has been given and it honours the best first English-language collection of short fiction published by a Canadian author in 2011.

The shortlist consists of:

  • Copernicus Avenue (Cormorant Books), by Andrew J. Borkowski
  • Stopping for Strangers (VĂ©hicule Press), by Daniel Griffin
  • This Will Be Difficult to Explain (Hamish Hamilton Canada), by Johanna Skibsrud
  • And Also Sharks (Cormorant Books), by Jessica Westhead
  • Not Anyone?s Anything (Freehand Books), by Ian Williams

Mark your calendars! The winners will be announced in Toronto on Thursday, June 7, 2023 at a morning press conference at Ben McNally Books.

The top three finalists will be given a cash prize. First prize consists of $10,000 and the other two finalists receive $500.

The jury this year was comprised of authors Gail Anderson Dargatz, Robin McGrath and Hal Niedzviecki. These judges determined the shortlist from 36 collections submitted.

This award celebrates the life Danuta Gleed, an award-winning short fiction writer who died in 1996. Danuta's first collection of short fiction, One of the Chosen (BuschekBooks), published posthumously. This award is made possible through a generous donation from John Gleed, in memory of his late wife, and is administered by The Writers? Union of Canada.

For further information about The 2011 Danuta Gleed Literary Award, please contact Diane Hargrave by phone at 416-467-9954, ext 104 or by e-mail at [email protected]

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search