25th Trillium Award

The 2013 Canada Prizes Finalists Have Been Announced

Share |
Canada Prizes Logo

The Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences has revealed the finalists for the 2013 Canada Prizes. These prizes, valued at $2,500 each, are awarded annually to the best scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences that have received funding from the Awards to Scholarly Publications Program. These books are not only considered important contributions to scholarship, but are also well-written and engaging works that deepen our understanding of the cultural, social and intellectual life of Canada.

This year?s finalists are:

Canada Prize in the Humanities

  • François-Marc Gagnon, Réal Ouellet and Nancy Senior, for The Codex Canadensis and the Writings of Louis Nicolas, McGill-Queen?s University Press
  • Elena Lamberti, for Marshall McLuhan's Mosaic: Probing the Literary Origins of Media Studies, University of Toronto Press
  • Sophie McCall, for First Person Plural: Aboriginal Storytelling and the Ethics of Collaborative Authorship, UBC Press
  • David A. Wilson, for Thomas D'Arcy McGee, Volume 2: The Extreme Moderate, 1857-1868, McGill-Queen?s University Press

Canada Prize in the Social Sciences

  • Bettina Bradbury, for Wife to Widow: Lives, Laws, and Politics in Nineteenth-Century Montreal, UBC Press
  • Tarah Brookfield, for Cold War Comforts: Canadian Women, Child Safety, and Global Insecurity, Wilfrid Laurier University Press
  • Bonita Lawrence, for Fractured Homeland: Federal Recognition and Algonquin Identity in Ontario, UBC Press
  • Reg Whitaker, Gregory S. Kealey and Andrew Parnaby, for Secret Service: Political Policing in Canada from the Fenians to Fortress America, University of Toronto Press

Prix du Canada en sciences humaines

  • Michel Nareau, for Double jeu: Baseball et littératures américaines, Le Quartanier
  • Susan Margaret Murphy, for Le Canada anglais de Jacques Ferron (1960-1970): formes, fonctions et représentations, Presses de l?Université Laval
  • Sylvain Schryburt, for De l'acteur vedette au théâtre de festival: Histoire des pratiques scéniques montréalaises, 1940-1980, Presses de l?Université de Montréal

Prix du Canada en sciences sociales

  • Chantal Bouchard, for Méchante langue: La légitimité linguistique du français parlé au Québec, Presses de l?Université de Montréal
  • Mario Mimeault, for Destins de pêcheurs: Les Basques en Nouvelle-France, Éditions du Septentrion
  • Nicolas Vonarx, for Le Vodou haïtien: Entre médecine, magie et religion, Presses de l?Université Laval

The winners will be announced in mid-March, with prizes being given by John Ralston Saul at the awards ceremony on Saturday, March 23, 2023 at the Ottawa Marriott Hotel.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search