25th Trillium Award

Babstock and Harsent Win the Griffin Prize!

Share |

Last night in Toronto, the Griffin Poetry Prize was awarded to Ken Babstock (Canadian winner) for Methodist Hatchet, published by House of Anansi and David Harsent (International winner) for Night, published by Faber and Faber. Each author receives a $65,000 prize purse.

The remaining finalists were:

  • Phil Hall for Killdeer, published by BookThug
  • Jan Zwicky for Forge, published by Gaspereau Press
  • Yusef Komunyakaa for The Chameleon Couch, published by Farrar Straus and Giroux
  • Sean O?Brien for November, published by Picador
  • Joanna Trzeciak for translation of Sobbing Superpower: Selected Poems of Tadeusz Rózewicz by Tadeusz Rózewicz, published by W.W. Norton & Company
  • The Griffin Poetry Prize was founded in 2000 to serve and encourage excellence in poetry. The prize is for first edition books of poetry written in, or translated into, English and submitted from anywhere in the world. For more information, please visit their website.

    Post new comment

    • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
    • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
    • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

    More information about formatting options

    By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

    Advanced Search