25th Trillium Award

Groundwood Creator Isol Wins the 2013 Astrid Lindgren Award

Share |
The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

House of Anansi Press/Groundwood Books has announced that Isol, an Argentine author and illustrator of children?s books, has won the 2013 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was founded by the Swedish government in 2002 and is considered the world?s largest prize for children?s and youth literature. The prize is valued at $700,000 and is awarded annually to one or more nominees regardless of their language or nationality. The nominees for this year numbered at as many as 207 candidates, which included authors, illustrators, organizations, promoters of reading and oral storytellers from as many as 67 countries around the world.

Other nominees from Groundwood were Susanne Rotraut Berner, Carll Cneut, Sarah Ellis, and Piet Grobler.

Please visit the award website for further information about the award. For more information about Isol, please visit her website.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search