25th Trillium Award

Kouhi and Burnford Award Winners Announced

Share |

The Northwestern Ontario Writers Workshop has announced the winners of the Elizabeth Kouhi Award and the Sheila Burnford Builders Award.

Elizabeth Kouhi Award

This award honours Thunder Bay poet Elizabeth Kouhi and is awarded annually to a writer with a significant history of contributing to the literature of Northwestern Ontario.

The winner is Sharon Irvine. She's a writer, teacher and a poet who has written for a number of periodicals and anthologies including Core, 807, Squeeze, The Whiskey Jack and Northern Nurses.

Sheila Burnford Builders Award

This award is named after writer Sheila Burnford. Her story. "The Incredible Journey," was set in Northwestern Ontario and puts emphasis on a “builder”— someone who has made outstanding contributions to publishing, promoting or supporting the literature of Northwestern Ontario.

The recipients of this award are J.F. Foulds, Rosalind Maki, Deborah deBakker and Charles Wilkins, the founding members of the Northwestern Ontario Writers Workshop.

For more information, visit the NOWW website.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search