25th Trillium Award

Mo Srivastava Wins 2013 CBC Canada Writes Creative Nonfiction Competition

Share |

Congratulations to Toronto's own Mo Srivastava, who has just been named the winner of the 2013 CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize for "The Gods of Scrabble." The French-language winner is Esteban Gonzalez for "Ramona."

"The Gods of Scrabble," a humorous and revealing story about a fateful Scrabble game the author plays with three more experienced Hungarian women, was selected for first place by writers Ross King, JJ Lee and Jan Wong. The jury praised "The Gods of Scrabble" for its use of language and humour to express certain stereotypes, saying:

"Like the clacking tiles shifting on each player's rack, the author sorts through languages and racial, gender, and age stereotypes. Self-deprecating, surprising, and told with great humour, this entry lands the triple word score."

Mo will receive a prize of $6,000, a two week residency at the Banff Centre and publication in Air Canada's enroute magazine. Congratulations are also in order to the four runners up, Terri Favro (Toronto), Matthew Hooton (Victoria), Jenny Manzer (Victoria) and Linda Rosenbaum (Toronto). They will each receive $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts. Last week, Open Book: Ontario featured interviews with each of the English finalists. You can read our interviews with Mo Srivastava and the other finalists here.


Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search