25th Trillium Award

Shortlists for the Gerald Lampert, Pat Lowther and Raymond Souster Awards Announced

Share |

The League of Canadian Poets (LCP) has announced the shortlists for the Raymond Souster, Pat Lowther and Gerald Lampert Memorial Awards.

The Raymond Souster Memorial Award has a prize of $1,000 that is given for a book by a League of Canadian Poets member that was published in the preceding year. It honours Raymond Souster, the founder of the League of Canadian Poets. The jury members are David Day, Louise Bernice Halfe and Barry Dempster.

The shortlist for the Raymond Souster Memorial Award is:

  • Hummingbird by John Wall Barger (Palimpsest Press)
  • the Flicker tree: Okanagan Poems by Nancy Holmes (Ronsdale Press)
  • Wayworn Wooden Floors by Mark Lavorato (The Porcupine?s Quill)
  • Between Dusk and Night by Emily McGiffin (Brick Books)
  • The New Measures by A.F. Moritz (House of Anansi Press Inc.)
  • no ordinary place by Pamela Porter (Ronsdale Press)

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award recognizes the best first book of poetry by a Canadian that was published in the preceding year. The prize for winning is $1,000 and this award honours Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who took an interest in new writers and organized authors' tours. The jury is Kathy Mac, Marguerite Pigeon and Heather Cadsby.

The shortlist for the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award is:

  • Charms Against Lightning by James Arthur (Copper Canyon Press)
  • I see my love more clearly from a distance by Nora Gould (Brick Books)
  • The Lease by Mathew Henderson (Coach House Books)
  • Sumptuary Laws by Nyla Matuk (VĂ©hicule Press/A Signal Edition)
  • repeater by Andrew McEwan (BookThug)
  • Notebook M by Gillian Savigny (Insomniac Press)

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is awarded for a book of poetry by a Canadian woman that was published in the preceding year, and this award is given in memory of Pat Lowther. This award also carries a $1,000 prize. The jury members are Kate Braid, Gay Allison and Marsha Barber.

The shortlist for the Pat Lowther Memorial Award is:

  • Soul Mouth by Marilyn Bowering (Exile Editions)
  • Monkey Ranch by Julie Bruck (Brick Books)
  • The Book of Marvels by Lorna Crozier (Greystone Books)
  • Slow Curve Out by Maureen Scott Harris (Pedlar Press)
  • A Grain of Rice by Evelyn Lau (Oolichan Books)
  • Song and Spectacle by Rachel Rose (Harbour Publishing)

The winners of these awards will be announced on June 8th, 2013. For more information about these awards, please visit Poets.ca.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search