25th Trillium Award

Tamara Faith Berger's Maidenhead is Shortlisted for The Believer Book Award!

Share |
Maidenhead, by Tamara Faith Berger

Toronto-based author Tamara Faith Berger’s Maidenhead (Coach House Books), one of the most acclaimed Canadian books of 2012, has been shortlisted for The Believer Book Award. The Believer Book Award is an annual award in which the editors of Believer, a literary magazine, compile a list of nominees from novels and short story collections that were underappreciated in the previous year. They officially announced the nominees in the March/April 2013 issue of their magazine.

Maidenhead is the story of a teenage girl, Myra, as her sexual awakening begins during a family vacation in Key West. Through a relationship with a Tanzanian musician, Elijah, an unfamiliar world is opened up to her of race, politics, philosophy and womanhood.

The other shortlisted 2012 titles are:

I'm Trying to Reach You by Barbara Browning (Two Dollar Radio)
My Struggle (Book One) by Karl Ove Knausgaard (Archipelago Books)
Parsifal by Jim Krusoe (Tin House Books)
A Naked Singularity by Sergio de la Pava (University of
Chicago Press)

The winner of the 2012 Believer Book Award will be announced in the May 2013 issue of Believer magazine.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search