25th Trillium Award

Winners of the 2013 Doug Wright Awards Announced

Share |
Doug Wright Awards Logo

The winners of the Doug Wright Awards for Canadian Comics were announced on May 11, 2023 at the Toronto Comic Arts Festival. The Doug Wright Awards were founded in 2004 in honour of the late Canadian cartoonist Doug Wright. They recognize English-language comics published in the previous calendar year and the cartoonists and comic artists who create them. They are given out in three categories — Best Book, The Spotlight Award and the Pigskin Peters Award. The Pigskin Peters Award recognizes experimental and non-traditional works of Canadian cartoonists.

Michel Rabagliati is the recipient of the Doug Wright Award for Best Book for The Song of Roland (Conundrum Press). Nina Bunjevac, a first-time nominee, is the winner of The Spotlight Award for her book Heartless (Conundrum Press). David Collier, who was previously nominated for the Doug Wright Award for Best Book in 2005, won the Pigskin Peters Award for Hamilton Illustrated (Wolsak & Wynn).

The winners were chosen by jurors Joe Ollmann, Pascal Girard, Jonathan Goldstein, Natalia Yanchak and Julie Delporte.

Please visit the Doug Wright Awards blog for further details.

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search