25th Trillium Award

Winners of the Alberta Book Publishing and Alberta Literary Awards Announced

Share |

The Writers? Guild of Alberta and the Book Publishers Association of Alberta have announced the winners of the Alberta Book Publishing Awards and the Alberta Literary Awards. The Alberta Literary Awards recognize literary excellence from Alberta authors and these awards were selected from works published in 2012. The Alberta Book Publishing Awards celebrate excellence in book publishing in Alberta.

The Alberta Book Publishing Award winners are:

Book Cover/Jacket Design
Personals, Ian Williams; cover design by Natalie Olsen (Freehand Books)

Book Design
Seen Reading, Julie Wilson; book design by Natalie Olsen (Freehand)

Children & Young Adult Book Award
From Blue to Red, Ross McIntyre (Tiberius Publishing)

Scholarly and Academic Book Award
The Reindeer Botanist: Alf Erling Porsild, 1901-1977, Wendy Dathan (University of Calgary Press)

Trade Fiction Book Award
The Crimes of Hector Tomás, Ian Colford (Freehand)

Trade Non-fiction Book Award
Those Who Know: Profiles of Alberta?s Aboriginal Elders, Dianne Meili (NeWest Press)

Robert Kroetsch Poetry Book Award
Restless White Fields, Barbara Langhorst (NeWest)

Education Book Award
Ten Steps to Help You Write Better Essays and Term Papers, Neil Sawers (The NS Group)

Lois Hole Award for Editorial Excellence
Every Wolf?s Howl: A Memoir, Barry Grills, edited by Robyn Read (Freehand)

The Alberta Literary Award winners are:

R. Ross Annett Award for Children?s Literature
The Discovery of Longitude, Joan Marie Galat (Pelican Publishing Company)

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction
Godless But Loyal to Heaven, Richard Van Camp (Enfield & Wizenty)

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction
Walls: Travels Along the Barricades, Marcello Di Cintio (Goose Lane Editions)

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama
Invisible Child, David Cheoros

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry
I see my love more clearly from a distance, Nora Gould (Brick Books)

James H. Gray Award for Short Non-fiction
A Hymn in Aramaic, Marcello Di Cintio (Alberta Views Magazine)

Howard O?Hagan Award for Short Story
In Search of Lucinda, Lee Kvern, www.be-a-better-writer.com

Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award
?The Unfinished?, Sydney Budgeon

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award
?Memoria, Justicia, Sin Olvido?, Elizabeth Haynes

Golden Pen Lifetime Achievement Award
George Melnyk

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Advanced Search