25th Trillium Award

Writers' Trust Prizes Lists Announced!

Share |

The Writers' Trust of Canada gives out more money to writers than any other non-governmental organization in the country, partly through their roster of literary prizes, including the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Nonfiction Prize, now in its second year.

Here are the prize lists announced this season:

The Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize:

  • Tim Bowling for The Tinsmith (Brindle & Glass Publishing)
  • Tamas Dobozy for Siege 13 (Thomas Allen Publishers)
  • Rawi Hage for Carnival (House of Anansi)
  • Alix Ohlin for Inside (House of Anansi)
  • Linda Spalding for The Purchase (McClelland & Stewart)
  • The Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize:

  • Kevin Hardcastle for "To Have to Wait" from The Malahat Review
  • Andrew Hood for "Manning" from PRISM International
  • Alex Pugsley for "Crisis on Earth-X" from The Dalhousie Review
  • The Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Nonfiction Prize:

  • Kamal Al-Solaylee for Intolerable: A Memoir of Extremes (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Modris Eksteins for Solar Dance: Genius, Forgery, and the Crisis of Truth in the Modern Age (Knopf Canada)
  • Taras Grescoe for Straphanger: Saving Our Cities and Ourselves from the Automobile (HarperCollins Canada)
  • JJ Lee for The Measure of a Man: The Story of a Father, a Son, and a Suit (McClelland & Stewart Canada)
  • Candace Savage for Geography of Blood: Unearthing Memory from a Prairie Landscape (Greystone Books)
  • The winner of the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize will receive $25,000 while the winner the Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize (awarded to the finest piece of short fiction published in a Canadian literary magazine) will receive $10,000. Both winners as well the winners of several other prizes presented by the Writers' Trust will be announced at their awards event on November 7, 2012.

    The winner of the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Nonfiction Prize will receive $60,000. The announcement will take place at a stand alone gala on November 12, 2012.

    Congratulations to all of the nominees! Stay tuned to Open Book to hear about the winners of these and other exciting literary awards.

    Post new comment

    • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
    • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
    • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

    More information about formatting options

    By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

    Advanced Search